Relational Aesthetics

Standard

Relational Aesthetics

Relational Aesthetics is a mode of fine art that is based off of human relations and social context as a whole rather than the individual private sphere. Art that falls in this category works with the changing mindset of society over time. As culture changes, this art adapts and takes its “point of departure in the changing mental space opened by the internet”. As an art form, these works allow people to come together and collectively participate in an activity.

Artist

Philippe Parreno is an artist and filmmaker from Algeria who currently lives in Paris, France. His work is primarily focused on “the interrogation of the nature of an image, as well as the modes of its exhibition.”

Book

For this week’s book application, I decided to recreate an activity that I used to participate in when I was younger. My friends and I used to dress up little paper dolls in different outfit cutouts. I found an as in my magazine with a model in her bra and underwear which is how the paper dolls used to come and was inspired so I searched around the rest of the magazine for outfits that could fit her. I cut out a number of outfits and took pictures of the outfits on the model. I also created a pocket in the magazine to store the outfits in.

                                          20111212-092449.jpg   20111212-092500.jpg  20111212-092509.jpg

20111212-092533.jpg   20111212-092542.jpg

20111212-092552.jpg

Leave a comment