Estrangement (Verfremdungseffekt)

Standard

Verfremdungseffekt is known as the distancing or alienation effect. In order to create distance the author must act as if the three walls surrounding them are the only walls that exist and that there is never a fourth one so that the audience no longer feels like the unseen spectator.

Artist 

Torgeir Ensrud is an American artist that uses estrangement in the digital arts. Here is an example of his work:

Book Entry

I focused on creating distance between the audience and the image in my portrayal of the estrangement technique. I chose to work with a Nike ad that says “FREE YOURSELF” with a photo of a woman who looked like she was breaking free from something. I used a piece of black airy fabric to create distance and to create the feeling that she is still restricted. I stapled the fabric on to the page in a bar like pattern to further create this restricted feeling.

20111017-001342.jpg

20111017-001352.jpg

Leave a comment